Standard Ebooks

About Standard Ebooks

Standard Ebooks is a volunteer-driven effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks. The text and cover art in our ebooks is already believed to be in the U.S. public domain, and Standard Ebooks dedicates its own work to the public domain, thus releasing the entirety of each ebook file into the public domain. All the ebooks we produce are distributed free of cost and free of U.S. copyright restrictions.

Standard Ebooks is organized as a “low-profit L.L.C.,” or “L3C,” a kind of legal entity that blends the charitable focus of a traditional not-for-profit with the ease of organization and maintenance of a regular L.L.C. Our only source of income is donations from readers like you.

More information



  1. A portrait of Alex Cabal.

    Alex Cabal Contact information for Alex Cabal.


  1. A portrait of Robin Whittleton.

    David Grigg Contact information for David Grigg.

  2. A portrait of Robin Whittleton.

    B. Timothy Keith Contact information for B. Timothy Keith.

  3. A portrait of Vince Rice.

    Vince Rice Contact information for Vince Rice.

  4. A portrait of Emma Sweeney.

    Emma Sweeney Contact information for Emma Sweeney.

  5. A portrait of Robin Whittleton.

    Robin Whittleton Contact information for Robin Whittleton.

Corporate Sponsors

  1. The logo for Scribophile


Patrons Circle

Join the Patrons Circle to support beautiful, free, and unrestricted digital literature, and to have a direct voice in shaping the future of the Standard Ebooks catalog.

  1. Jon Allen

  2. David Ballenger

  3. Michael Barrineau

  4. Leland Blanton

  5. Chris Brooks

  6. Derrick Burns

  7. Matthew Chan

  8. Andrew Clunis

  9. Mark Cohen

  10. Maxwell Collins-Shenfield

  11. Liza Daly

  12. In memory of Georgia Dawson

  13. Mahdi Dibaiee

  14. Christian Eager

  15. Alec Feather

  16. Wilhelm Fitzpatrick

  17. Mac Foster

  18. Michael Ham

  19. Carey Handfield

  20. Richard Healey

  21. Curtis Hendzell

  22. Stephen Heywood

  23. David Howell

  24. John Jarvis

  25. Jared Joslin

  26. Leonard Kirke

  27. Brendan LeFebvre

  28. Monica & Matthew Levine

  29. Lance Linimon

  30. James Luke

  31. Patrick Greeley Mahoney

  32. Ozan Ocal

  33. Andrew Roach

  34. Rollin Salsbery

  35. Brandon Sowers

  36. Joshua Tompkins

  37. Ted van der Togt

  38. Nathan West

  39. Blake Westerdahl

  40. Patrick Weyer

  41. Anonymous × 12